Would “Writing” Become Extinct In The Near Future?

Many forms of art have become extinct due to their non-relevance to the latest technologies and trending generations. This afternoon, as I sat down with my pencil and notebook to jot down my random thoughts;  I reminisced my initial days as a student learning to write with the pencil.

The struggle to hold that lovely shiny sharp pencil on the notebook with the tiny little fingers and the taste of the triumphant moment after writing the first letter A impeccably right above the line! I also remembered how I used to look at all the older kids buying their beautiful and elegant fountain pens and the ink bottles. They learned cursive writing and used their mighty pens to show off their ability to write so effortlessly. I remember watching them with awe! The ink would flow so smoothly creating a complete piece of art on their notebooks! The day I stepped into class 3, all I had in my mind was the new fountain pen in my school bag and the umpteen butterflies in my head – thinking about the joy of learning to do something so adorable! As I sat, so lost in thoughts, the wind blew through the window and snapped at me; made me look at all the papers scattered in my room.

Would "Writing" Become Extinct In The Near Future?

Yes, back to the real world.

So, how much does the current generation use “writing”? I don’t mean to rant, but seriously! Almost every 2 year old has a smart phone and knows to play video games! Every little kid knows to type on the touch screen better than writing neatly on a piece of paper.

Writing is not just an art but also the best exercise to develop a child’s motor skills, creativity and make maximum use of the brain’s activity!

The current generation take notes in their digital notebooks, create their To-Do lists in their smart phones, and print them. Assignments, Drawings, Documents, Engineering Diagrams, Classroom trainings, everything is digital! Most of the work is done on the computer and I began to analyse what are the industries that require “actual writing”? Banks, Medicine, Stocks, Accounts, Education, Engineering, Publishing, Teaching, Event Management, Design, every single industry seemed irrelevant! I could come up with almost nothing as all major occupations that I know are digitalised.

Now, that makes me wonder…

Would “Writing” Become Extinct In The Near Future?

Although it would mean greater developments in the field of science and technology, education, occupation and employment generation, somewhere in the corner of my heart I feel sad that the upcoming generations would not have the opportunity to enjoy these little joys of life just like how they miss playing outdoors and making real friends instead of playing video games with their virtual friends online.

What do you think? Do you think “writing” with hands would become extinct in the near future?

Feel free to drop your opinions in the comment section below!

~ Yuvathi 🙂

– The Confused Young Adult

4 thoughts on “Would “Writing” Become Extinct In The Near Future?

  1. ramexa September 20, 2015 / 7:55 pm

    I think that writing will become extinct in the near future because of texting. Smartphones have changed our lives for both, the better and the worse.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sathish September 20, 2015 / 9:00 pm

    Very nice. Even the small things(actually which we assume as small things) brings us the greatest joy when those beautiful memories lingers in our young heart of grown up brain..

    Keep doing ur good job for the confused young adults here😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. yogisaputro September 20, 2015 / 9:43 pm

    I guess the intensity of writing in our culture will drop in near future. The writing process itself will never be extinct, though. Ink on paper can be read anytime, doesn’t need battery, and seems real.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. kutukamus December 25, 2015 / 9:14 pm

    In the near future? Maybe not.
    In the long run? I have no idea.. not quite. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

