Today In Short : #14 – What Happens When You Don’t Look Your Age

Hi !

You all may wonder what happened to me all these days, well I took some time off to sort things in my head. As you might know, this blog is all about sharing good memories, opinions that make a difference, positivity and optimism. Since I was a little upset and messed up, I wasn’t sure if I could share happy thoughts with you all. All I could think of was sad poetry, bitter experiences, and melancholy. :-/ Hence, this short break from the blogosphere! 🙂

Well, now am so geared up and I am all set to share about something that happened to me today : What Happens When You Don’t Look Your Age. 

If you have read my previous post : 20 Facts About Me, you would know that I look too young for my age. Many times I’ve not been taken seriously in shops and malls as the shop keepers think I’m some school kid, just looking around all the colorful things in the store. :-/

So, here’s the story:

Today In Short : #14 - What Happens When You Don't Look Your Age

I started playing badminton with the guys of my neighborhood this week. Since am new to this area, none of them knew me and I made a bunch of new friends and acquaintances in a couple of days. At first the guys and the girls talked to me formally (if someone is new to you, you prefer formal speech to address them). All of them were about 5-6 years younger than me while some were even 10 years younger! Unfortunately, they all thought I was younger than most of them! The youngest batch thought I  would be of their age group and addressed me in informal speech!!

In case you don’t know, you might wonder what is so alarming about that. Well, in Asian languages, unlike English, it is very important to address a person in formal speech if they are older than you. It is considered very disrespectful otherwise. So I was taken aback a little and said, “dear, I’m about 10 years older than you”. Upon hearing that, there was utter silence in the crew for a moment which was then followed by huge gasps and “really?? are you?? I cant believe it!”…  Sigh!

Alright that’s not a big deal. I thought it’s okay, it happens..

So, I took a few steps for damage control. In order to avoid further misconceptions, I wore suitable clothing and hairstyle hoping that people would then believe am a little older. But then, what happened later, left me dumbstruck!

Today, my mom visited me while I was playing. She looks her age of course! As I was talking to one of the guys there, he said “yeah, why don’t you play with your Granny?Wait. What?? Did he just think that my mom is my granny? And for the love of God, did he just say it out loud?? 😮

When I said, she is not my granny, she is my mom, he said, “I thought you’re a high schooler and so I thought she might be your granny!” Duh :-/

For that, a girl sitting next to me (a high schooler) said Oh! Please don’t you worry, people often mistake my age too. At times kids address me as aunty, they think am very old! It hurt me that once I even cried a river!

Oh Goodness! I am dumbfounded. Now, am so confused if I should be happy that I don’t look old…

Have you had such experiences? Did you feel this way too? Do you think looks really matter? Or, is it okay to be perceived younger/older than your actual age? Feel free to share your opinions in the comment box below. 

Tomorrow I will be updating a new story for Story Time With A Difference. So stay tuned!

~ Yuvathi 🙂

The Confused Young Adult

15 thoughts on “Today In Short : #14 – What Happens When You Don’t Look Your Age

  1. andy1076 May 28, 2015 / 12:53 am

    Oof, that’s the one thing that’s a gift and a.. pain?

    Like

    • Yuvathi May 28, 2015 / 1:04 am

      a working woman mistaken as a 9th grader is a bit too much don’t u think? 😭 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      • andy1076 May 28, 2015 / 1:14 am

        I’d say the woman is absolutely cute and I’d be happy to spend the day with her! 😊👊

        Like

      • Yuvathi May 28, 2015 / 10:38 am

        haha 😀 🙂

        Like

    • Yuvathi May 28, 2015 / 1:07 am

      Yeah… A working woman mistaken as a 9th grader is a bit too much don’t u think? 😭 😦

      Like

  2. Frederick May 28, 2015 / 9:29 am

    Ouch!! That must have felt really bad. But isn’t it a good thing to look young? It must mean that you’re very healthy, I suppose.

    Like

    • Yuvathi May 28, 2015 / 10:39 am

      pretty healthy of course 🙂 i think it is a happy thing when i turn 35+ or 40+ 😀

      Like

      • Frederick May 28, 2015 / 11:00 am

        Yep! I would think so and agree with you! But sometimes you need to look old to fit the part, like a senior employee etc. Are you really unable to look like your age, even if you tried??

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yuvathi May 28, 2015 / 11:01 am

        haha yeahh.. 😀 but thankfully, at work, I get the required respect for my position. 🙂

        Like

  3. AB May 28, 2015 / 1:04 pm

    I had a similar experience.In my 10th grade my friend’s aunt mistook me for a 5th grader and told her not to hangout with a kid :/ .I felt humiliated.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yuvathi May 28, 2015 / 2:45 pm

      hahaha 😀 i know how it feels………

      Like

  4. alyciadianne June 1, 2015 / 12:26 am

    I’m pretty young, 22 years old. People often mistake me for being 15 or 16 though. It kind of bugs me, but then I just tell them “well, when I’m 50 I’ll still look like I’m in my 30s or 40s” always gotta find the silver lining I suppose

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yuvathi June 1, 2015 / 9:19 am

      Haaha 😀 yeah, I say the same. Am sure ppl like us would look pretty and young even in the late 40’s 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

