Sibling – The Best Friend, Guardian Angel, Teacher, Philosopher, Guide……

Who would know you better than your siblings?? They’ve known you ever since birth and have been with you during your good and bad days, shared the same space and time, knowing your lovely and ugly sides as well. They are your family.

I see so many posts, surveys and articles on the internet about sibling rivalry, quarrels, causes, psychological reasoning etc.. That’s quite alarming! Most siblings are jealous and have trust issues!  Why is that so?

I love spending quality time with my sister. We sit together with some chips and watch some Korean or American comedy series and discuss all kinds of crap! Starting from the paint color we would like to have on our walls to the kind of man we would like to meet! Be it science, art, gossips, fashion, health, relationships, work issues…we can talk all day long! Sometimes we talk about finance and saving up for something big, our career plans and ambitions and try to help each other in achieving our dreams. We are two different people with different interests, likes and dislikes, yet we share a common wavelength! Funny but true.

siblings

When we were young, I was a troublesome kid indeed. But our parents made sure that we protected each other. Although I didn’t understand most of it, we were best pals and the best foes for each other. We quarreled a lot, we cared even more. I can’t imagine better childhood memories and days without her. She used to pick on me, tease me, embarrass me when we were alone but never ever let me down in front of others. When I left for college and she left the state for her first job, I missed her so much, I cried for two days in a row! That’s when I realized how much I really loved her and how much she had done for me during our time together.

I can bet that I could never find someone who can be as protective as my sister and understand me any better! She is someone who I can trust as much as I trust myself. I can confide in her and share all my well wrapped deeply hidden secrets. When I was bullied, she stood up for me, protected me. She always does. When I felt lost, she guided me like a torch in darkness. When our mommy was not around, she made sure I felt warm and safe.

She is my guardian angel, whose love is perennial with a heart that is so selfless.

Today, after a long and rough week at work, as we sat together for our weekend afternoon movie and snacks, reminiscing our terrible pranks and funny good old days and gossiping about all the crazy guys we met in our lives and sharing some of our experiences, I silently thanked my parents.. I thanked life. 🙂

sibling

If you have siblings, call them, meet and chat over a cup of coffee. Talk your heart out right now. If you have had a bad relationship with your brother or sister, get rid of it. Your sibling is more like a part of you, sharing the same blood and past as you. Just one call; you won’t regret it. In fact, you will feel blessed than ever. Cherish the beautiful bond. It’s never too late to express love, gratitude and kindness.

Make 2015 more memorable with your sibling love. They are precious, don’t miss them. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Sibling – The Best Friend, Guardian Angel, Teacher, Philosopher, Guide……

  1. Kelly Unbuttoned January 4, 2015 / 9:00 pm

    Thanks for following me. You are a lovely writer. It’s so refreshing to see young people who have a natural talent, and who can use grammar and spelling properly. Your post gave me a lot to think about. My brother is so much younger than me and he has so many issues I can’t seem to help with, but I can offer to just visit with him more. Keep up the writing. You have a great future ahead of you. Cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yuvathi January 4, 2015 / 9:15 pm

      Thank you for your valuable comment and taking your time to read the post 🙂

      Like

  2. AWomanInflux January 5, 2015 / 4:42 pm

    You are very fortunate to have such a warm and loving relationship with your sister. 🙂 It is lovely to see.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

