Today In Short : #1 Kindness

Every evening, after work, I go to an educational institute which is 2 kilometers away from my place. I usually walk till the bus stop and take an auto or bus from there because it is more convenient.

Coming from a country with the second highest population in the world, it is quite rare to find a place without people. You are always surrounded by different kinds of people speaking different languages ( I hope you know, there are over 780 languages spoken in my country), with different complexions (Yes, North, South, East and West.. we all have different complexions and features!) wearing different kinds of clothing ( Well, there is so much cultural diversity, it will take years for me to explain 😀 ), rich, poor, tall, short, good, bad.. the list is endless. Simply put, you are just surrounded by all kinds of people everywhere!

Realizing the beauty of our country and the unity among our people amidst all the diversity, I was so proud, overwhelmed and impressed all at the same time! 😀

Well, the human mind can not always think straight. Right? The moment you are proud about something, it automatically pops an ugly picture or a figure of doubt to destroy all the happiness..and.. there it goes!

My second thoughts:

But.. out of these 1.25 billion people, how many are really kind to one another? 

This thought made me question the very basic nature of humanity and I was lost in deep thoughts. But in less than a minute, the universe gave me live examples to clear my doubt! 😮

While I was on my way to the bus stop, I saw a young woman stopping her bike on the road very close to a cow and a little calf. I wondered what she was doing and in fact I was worried that the cow might hurt her. But when I went closer I witnessed something really nice! She took some fresh bananas from her bag and fed the stray cow and her calf and left quietly after watching them eat. 🙂

By the time I reached the traffic signal near the bus stop, I saw a little boy holding a visually challenged man’s arm and helping him cross the road. The man patted the boy’s shoulder before parting ways. The smile on their faces was precious. One being happy to have helped, the other being glad and grateful. It was just beautiful. 🙂

When I was in the bus, an old woman, a florist, asked me to help her dial a number on her phone. (She didn’t know to operate her phone, well that happens here. Not all are techies and there’s nothing wrong!) After I did, she smiled and gave me a beautiful rose from her basket. Wow! 🙂

kindness

Wohoo! What a day! I have never been happier. The day was so lovely. 3 beautiful incidents to show that in a country with so much diversity and competition to survive and achieve, people do have time to show some kindness, help each other and be good to one another. In fact, I realized, that’s what binds us all together. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Today In Short : #1 Kindness

    • Yuvathi December 4, 2014 / 6:49 pm

      Haha yeah! 😊 thank you 🙂

      Like

  1. Yuvathi April 28, 2015 / 9:16 pm

    Reblogged this on The Confused Young Adult and commented:

    April A-Z Blogging – Day 11 : ‘K’

    How about a Reblog of my very first post for Today In Short?
    This is a post that meant a lot to me. Made me believe in Kindness and humanity in the midst of this busy and competitive world.

    Like

  2. camillevt April 29, 2015 / 6:43 am

    Loved this! And I completely agree: kindness is the most important thing we can give each other. It’s an act of pure love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

