The Beginning

Last Sunday, at 7:00 am, I opened my eyes after a sound sleep, grabbed my ‘smart phone’ lying next to my pillow, opened Whatsapp, went through the inbox, refreshed my e-mail, tweeted a meaningless update about my desire to drink a hot cup of coffee,swiped through Facebook news feeds, checked the number of likes for my photo that I uploaded the previous night (thank God it was 50+ likes in one night) and updated my hardly used apps for no reason and finally decided I should get up and looked at the clock, well, it was 8:30 am.

social media

Wait, what? 1.5 hours on total crap? Yes, one and half solid hours, wasted ruthlessly on some totally useless activity which made some guy in the U.S a billionaire and made you poorer  every time you logged in! The worst part is, most of these virtual friends are not your friends after all! These virtual friends do not actually care about you. They just want to know what you are up to, so that they can do something more ridiculous to get more likes and shares than you do!

This hollow thought sunk into me, all of a sudden, at 8:30 am. How? I have no idea, but lucky me, I could at least realize what I was missing.. My lovely family waiting for me to join for breakfast, the red rose that bloomed in my front yard this morning after a lot of hard work, manuring and grafting, my neighbor’s child waiting to show me her new birthday dress, above all, “my me time“. That very moment, I felt like an enlightened modern day Buddha, and just like Buddha, I shred all my useless apps. Deleted my Whatsapp account, deactivated my Facebook account and logged out of twitter and e-mail. Wow! The feeling was amazing! I was no more a part of the rat race in the fake world. I felt reborn in the “actual” real world.

friends

Now, my real friends who really care about me, take time amidst their busy schedule, call me and ask me how I am. That feels great! When I sit with my family, am actually with them and not with my phone and my virtual so-called friends!

family-bonding

Beautiful moments in life are captured in our heart and treasured as memories and not captured in a camera and saved in the hard disk.

I realized, I must share this with the world, with people who might be missing some of the most beautiful moments in their life while looking at some meaningless meme about Taylor Swift’s new boyfriend or Kim Kardashian’s butt.

How nice it would be if people share their daily fun anecdotes about their time at school or workplace with their family and friends and bond with them instead of tweeting the same to the world that cares the least? How happy a woman would be if her husband and children appreciate her culinary skills over dinner instead of sharing a picture of “Starbucks Coffee” on Instagram saying “yummmyyyy” even before taking a sip?!

Take a break for a moment.  Rethink. What are you doing with your life? 

Oh! By the way.. I would like to say..

Welcome to my Blog – “The Confused Young Adult🙂

8 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. grambaba November 24, 2014 / 1:06 pm

    Which is why I don’t take that “smart phone” to work. It’s not allowed even if i want to. No internet. No facebook. No random texts from random WhatsApp griups. No nothing. It has its downsides (like can’t google for information) but, I’ve been productive as never before. Each day learning new things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • yuvathi November 26, 2014 / 7:51 am

      Wow! That’s really cool 🙂

      Like

  2. ur best friend :p November 25, 2014 / 3:02 pm

    its really great!! (y) 😀

    Like

  3. Friend November 25, 2014 / 4:48 pm

    🙂 Great beginning with “The Beginning” 😀 (y)

    Like

    • yuvathi November 26, 2014 / 7:52 am

      Your comments motivate me. Thank you very much 🙂

      Like

  4. Sriram November 26, 2014 / 7:12 am

    The Good Begining 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

